SO AM I DOOMED???????

so I’m back from my hiatus…

back to talk about this trend that’s taken off in the media for a while.

From Helena Andrew’s controversial memoir, “Bitch is the New Black,” to Chilli’s new reality show, “What Chilli Wants” and the specials with panelists who should be the last people to talk about what black women should do to get a man.

This idea that if you’re successful, female, and BLACK and you choose to set high standards, that you are doomed to a life of loneliness.  ALSO, that all black women are desperate to find men!!Do I think successful black women will have a harder time finding a mate?? YES, but we should not be made to feel that because we have went to school, got our degree(s), started our careers or on that path, that we will never find men of equal success. For years, there has always been the debate whether or not mothers should be career women or just stay at home moms,now, I feel that the focus has shifted to black women compromising our success and standards for companionship/love. We shouldn’t be made to feel that we have to settle for less to get a man. That idea is preposterous to me. Instead of telling me that I should lower my standards to get a man, how about telling that man that he needs to work harder to get the woman who’s already has it. So I’m going to try to stay up later tonight to watch this ABC Nightline special about single, successful black women, and why we can’t find men *side-eye*I’ll write my thoughts on it tomorrow.

~Until next time🙂

~ by THE QUEEN on April 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
