Oh The Weather Outside is Frightful…..Best Beauty Buys!

I went outside this morning and my face nearly cracked open it was so cold. You know its cold as hell when you have to break out the big jar of vaseline for reinforcement when the lotion is not doing its job. If I’m not mistaken, yesterday was the first day of winter and with that, it came and is now causing some damage to a sista’s skin. Like many women of color, my skin and relaxed hair tends to get dry during the winter months. Today was my cue to hit up Walgreen’s for some skin & hair care products. Here are a few of my must buys:

palmersPalmer’s Cocoa Butter Formula– I prefer the jar kind over the actual bottle. This is my substitute for lotion in the winter. The product in the jar is much more emollient than the lotion form and is the bomb! Put this on after your shower and you’re good to go.

aphogee

Aphogee Hair Products– I’ve been using this for about two months now and I love it! Especially the conditioning treatments, my favorite is the Keratin 2 Minute Reconstructor, which comes in the packets  or the actual bottles (pictured).Their products are really inexpensive (wayyy cheaper than KeraCare!) and can be found at Sally’s Beauty Supply OR your local beauty supply store, there’s one in every inner-city/ghetto/hood/etc.  Don’t be cute, you know exactly what I’m talking about, they have everything! LOL

vaseline

Vaseline– I saved the best for last! Vaseline is such a multipurpose kind of product. It removes eye makeup, keeps the lips from chapping up, moisturizes dry skin and heals cuts! HAHA…I ALWAYS keep a jar of vaseline in my purse. Before I got on to the little jars for a $1 at CVS, I would carry around the big one and was caught several times pulling it out in public to grease the lips…hey, I’m old-skool, what can I say? For most of our mothers and foremothers this was the only kind of moisturizer they had and their skin stayed flawless! There’s lots to be learned from your elders, hehe.

**Here are a few of my friends favorite beauty buys:**

  • Best Facial Cleanser: Cetaphil
  • Best Body Moisturizer: Johnson & Johnson’s Baby Oil
  • Best Body Cleanser: Dove Products
  • Best Hair Products: Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Line

~ by THE QUEEN on December 23, 2008.

One Response to “Oh The Weather Outside is Frightful…..Best Beauty Buys!”

  1. I’m glad u mentioned aphrogee. I’m am addict when it comes to youtube hair videos and have been hearing about this line quite freq. I’m lookn for a GREAT conditioner so imma try it out.

Leave a Reply

 
