Rihanna: The Latest Celeb Designer & Let’s Hope She Doesn’t Follow In the Footsteps of Other Celeb Designers

Rihanna

Unlike everyone else, Rihanna’s fashion line is one I’m actually excited about. Let’s face it, chick’s style is ridiculous! I can’t wait to see what it will look like. I hope it won’t be a disappointment like other celebrity lines: House of Dereon (Beyonce, I got love for you, but that line is all kinds of wrong!), L.A.M.B (hot shoes, but way too expensive considering Gwen Stefani’s cheap-chic style aesthetic) and Baby Phat (need I say more?) I think Rihanna should create a line thats stylish yet affordable, considering that majority of her fanbase is between the ages of 18-24 and presumably will be buying her clothes. I just hope her line doesn’t become “ghetto-couture” with all the crazy and gaudy embellishments. That’s my problem with these “urban” lines, or in other words, clothes for black folks. The clothes look cheap and costumy yet cost an arm and a leg, and what’s sad is women still buy it. And I hate using the word “ghetto” to describe something or someone, but if it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck, then AFLACK!!! LOL. Nelly’s Apple Bottoms and Jay-Z’s Rocawear 4yrs ago are probably the only urban lines that look decent. I’ve seen a lot of pieces from Nelly line that I wouldn’t mind wearing and I wore Rocawear back in high school. Baby Phat started off good, but I wouldnt wear BP now if somebody gave it to me. The BP clothes I see in the stores are NOT what’s coming down the runway in Kimmora’s fashion shows nor do I ever see her actually wear Baby Phat. In my opinion, I think the respect for lines like HOD and BP have weaned tremendously. Their clothes make black women in particular look like caricatures. Caricatures as in, ghetto-fabulous/ gaudy individuals and it just feeds into the stereotype of us. I have faith in Rihanna’s line though. If any of her designs are similar to what she wears on a daily basis and makes the best dressed lists wearing them, then I will most definitely be making purchases.

~ by THE QUEEN on September 30, 2008.

One Response to “Rihanna: The Latest Celeb Designer & Let’s Hope She Doesn’t Follow In the Footsteps of Other Celeb Designers”

  1. Great commentary. I totally agree with your opinion. I am looking forward to it as well. Hope it is stylish and affordable. She will corner the market if she follow your advice and she will make tons of money. She has potenital to shake up the fashion word.

Leave a Reply

 
